Hardly an RT? What did I do wrong?

It’s three days since The Girl with the Haunting Smile went live on Amazon and Smashwords. My epublisher tells me it did well on the first day (mainly thanks to family and Facebook). I haven’t kept tabs on it since and don’t plan to for a month or so. Meanwhile, I’ll keep up my promotion efforts and hope they pay off.

One thing has taken me aback, however. As of today, I have 8,200 Twitter followers. I’ve been quite choosy, adding only those with whom I shared interests. I’ve been supportive of the writers among them, often handing out RTs and Favorites (even posting a few reviews) and building up a good rapport in the process.

Yet, just when I need them most, they’re nowhere to be seen. My first five tweets since my novel was published have brought me – wait for it – one single RT! There was nothing unusual about my tweets. The first two read “The Girl with the Haunting Smile is now out US http://amzn.to/UnKmwi UK http://amzn.to/10Y4Ux3 $3.11/£1.94 #romance #mystery”. When they produced no RTs, I made a more direct request. “Please RT. The Girl with the Haunting Smile is now out etc”. I know how easy it is for tweets to slip off screens unnoticed but mine were sent at various times of day to acknowledge the different time zones and with hashtags to give them more focus. I can hardly believe that none of the folk with whom I’ve regularly exchanged tweets have spotted any of mine over the last couple of days.

Or am I missing something? What could I have done better? If you have any thoughts, I’d love to hear from you.

About Richard Louden

Maybe it was because languages were my thing but I loved writing at school and I've loved it ever since. Obviously, I hope others will enjoy reading what I write but, now that I am turning my hand to novels, what matters most to me is to write what, as a reader, I would like to read. As a journalist with UK papers, I've written widely on education, business, sport and law. In the creative writing field, I've written the scripts of two TV dramas (BBC and ITV), contributed sketches to TV and radio comedy shows and had short stories published in national anthologies. That doesn’t make me a novelist but I hope it gives me a push in the right direction.

Posted on November 29, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Hey Richard,

    I RT’d you a couple of times I think. I know I caught the first one (I made sure to check on the 26th for your first Tweet about the book) and thought I caught the one you requested.

    Personally, my problem is that I don’t see anyone’s tweets and never check my Timeline. Due to the nature of my Twitter account I’m following quite a lot of people, so it’s hard to keep track; the tweets flood in at rates higher than I can read. Quite frankly, even if they were slow enough to read, a lot of them are indecipherable. I usually stay on my ‘mentions’ page and keep clicking on the profiles of those whose tweets I actually do want to check, but there’s an obvious flaw in that, because if they don’t mention me, they slip down and I forget…

    You might want to look at joining a Tweet-team. WLC has one (i think I saw you mention that you had an account over there) and there are a few on Twitter itself, just search for the hashtag. They’re usually composed of a good dozen or so members who will all RT a certain tweet of yours in exchange for you tweeting one of theirs.

    Other then that…all’s I can say is what i’ve learned so far: This promotion malarky is very frustrating and rarely eventful. But, on the plus side, the last I checked your book was doing really well! I bought a copy, and although I can’t get to reading it yet (I have a shit-ton of read/reviews to do) I am looking forward to doing so.

    I have a few Twitter accounts btw and will log in to them now and RT your book for you.

    All the best,

    David

    • Hi David

      Many thanks for your comments, which I appreciate. You’re a pal. I’m already active on WLC Tweet Teams – today will be my fourth day.

      Maybe I’ve missed a few RTs. I thought I had Tweet Deck set up to ensure I was aware of every mention or RT but maybe not. I’ve just checked (40 minutes after your message) and don’t see any new RTs from you.

      I may be employing the wrong tactic by merely telling folk my book is now out there and hoping they’ll buy it. I think I’ll have to engage them more. It’s about a guy who has Tourette’s, so maybe I should flag that up, both on Twitter and in my blog, in the hope of stimulating discussion and interest.

      Let’s keep in touch. I’ve enjoyed our chats.

      All the best,

      Richard

      • Hey Richard,

        I RT’d it from my account and 4 others right after I sent that last comment. I haven’t used Tweet Deck but I have a feeling it is only showing you the mentions (I.E those tweets which begin “RT @RichardLouden”) and not the RT’s themselves which show up under the “interactions” tab on Twitter.

        There are plenty of Tourette’s groups of Facebook that you could join, but I haven’t really seen an increase in sales since joining those, nothing dramatic anyway. If you drop the Tourette’s hashtag into a few posts & start following those who do the same (although you’d have to be careful to vet those who use it along the lines of “been swearing at my mother all day, I think i have Tourette’s”…which, unfortunately but expectedly, are quite numerous) you should be able to build up a nice following of people who might be willing to read your book.

        Let me know if you sort out the twitter thing. I have a feeling you have a lot more RTs than you think.

        All the best,

        David

  2. Hi David,

    Thanks for the tip about the Interactions tab. I’m still learning! It shows that I’ve actually had 17 RTs, including 3 from you. That makes me feel a whole lot better.

    I already follow several folk who have Tourette’s, OCD, ADHD or a mix of them. I’m aware that the Tourette’s hashtag picks up all sorts and will keep a wary eye out for that.

    Thanks again for your help. I really appreciate it.

    Best regards,

    Richard

Leave a Reply

