Coming to a Kindle Near You

The Girl with the Haunting Smile will be published on Monday 26th November, so it’s high time I told you what it’s about. The simplest way to do that is to share with you the synopsis that will appear on Amazon:

Greg Harris has been besotted since he was eight. As soon as the young Scot saw a photo of Ellen Fromm, a gorgeous ten-year-old from Wilmington, North Carolina, he was hooked by her soft, haunting smile.

He is devastated when, six years later, his beloved pen pal stops writing and vanishes. For many years he makes feverish attempts to contact her but in vain. He feels as if all meaning has gone out of his life. But he never forgets Ellen and clings to the dream that, one day, they will be together.

At long last, when he is thirty, he finds a letter Ellen once wrote to his granddad that transforms his life. When she and Greg eventually meet, it says, she reckons she may fancy him in a big way. As this huge boost revives his mission in life, Greg arranges a job in Wilmington, flies out and for ages hunts high and low for Ellen.

But a major doubt lurks in his mind. Ever since he was a kid, he has had Tourette’s Syndrome. He has never told Ellen about it. Even if he finds her, will his secret ruin his chance of happiness?

That’s it, then. At its core, The Girl with the Haunting Smile is a romance novel, the tale of a sensitive love that embeds itself deeply and refuses to be dislodged by the passage of time. But it’s also the human story (told in the first person) of a guy with Tourette’s, what it does to him and how other people treat him. I know of only one other novel whose main character has Tourette’s, so the theme hasn’t been overworked. In the last month or so, two TV programmes – The Town That Caught Tourette’s and Let Me Entertain You – have increased public awareness of the condition, so this may not be a bad time to bring my novel to the market.

In the course of my career, I’ve met a fair number of people with Tourette’s, so I’ll say a bit more about it in my next blog.

About Richard Louden

Maybe it was because languages were my thing but I loved writing at school and I've loved it ever since. Obviously, I hope others will enjoy reading what I write but, now that I am turning my hand to novels, what matters most to me is to write what, as a reader, I would like to read. As a journalist with UK papers, I've written widely on education, business, sport and law. In the creative writing field, I've written the scripts of two TV dramas (BBC and ITV), contributed sketches to TV and radio comedy shows and had short stories published in national anthologies. That doesn’t make me a novelist but I hope it gives me a push in the right direction.

Posted on November 2, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

