Just a month to go!

Just 31 days to go! Exactly a month from today – Monday 26 November – the great publishing adventure begins when The Girl with the Haunting Smile goes live on Amazon and Smashwords.

I know I haven’t made all the smart marketing moves. There are no giveaways, no Q&A sessions, no blog tours. Facebook is almost virgin territory for me. I won’t be going down the KDP Select route as my epublisher isn’t a fan.

My focus has been on Twitter, followed by Goodreads and the World Literary Cafe. Plus my blogsite, of course. This is my 19th blog since I started five months ago. An average of around a blog a week isn’t too bad going, I hope.

What has lifted me most has been the supportive attitude of other writers. I’ve had very helpful comments on my blogs from lovely folk like Terry Tyler (@TerryTyler4) and Karen Einsel (@K_Einsel), to mention just a couple.

Now I must roll my sleeves up even higher as the great day looms, then keep them rolled up in the months that follow. If, sadly, my novel languishes on Amazon’s virtual shelves, I don’t want it to be for want of marketing effort on my part.

It occurs to me that I’ve been so focused on making friendly contacts that I haven’t even explained what The Girl with the Haunting Smile is about (it’s not quite as clear-cut as it may seem). I’ll put that right in my next blog.

About Richard Louden

Maybe it was because languages were my thing but I loved writing at school and I've loved it ever since. Obviously, I hope others will enjoy reading what I write but, now that I am turning my hand to novels, what matters most to me is to write what, as a reader, I would like to read. As a journalist with UK papers, I've written widely on education, business, sport and law. In the creative writing field, I've written the scripts of two TV dramas (BBC and ITV), contributed sketches to TV and radio comedy shows and had short stories published in national anthologies. That doesn’t make me a novelist but I hope it gives me a push in the right direction.

Posted on October 26, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Good luck with the launch of your novel at the end of November! I’m looking forward to hearing more about The Girl with the Haunting Smile. Twitter is a great place to be promoting your book and making friends!

  2. Good piece, Richard .. if you want any help on RTs. send me an (at) message tweet and I’ll send it out on a scheduled Tweetdeck program ..Gotta support my fellow writer-bloggers !

    go break several legs :):)

    • That’s very kind, Seumas. I’ll need any help I can get, so I’ll certainly take you up on your offer. I’m not as internet-savvy as you (I use Tweetdeck but scheduled programs are a mystery to me) but if I can reciprocate in any way, I’ll be more than glad to.

Leave a Reply

