What makes a good Twitter profile?

Make your Twitter profile catchy, the experts tell me. Okay, let’s look at my current one: ‘Ex-TV scriptwriter, now journalist moving into novels, first due out soon.’

Catchy? Hmm, not exactly. Maybe I should redo it thus: ‘Ex-creator of racy TV dramas, now adrenaline-fuelled hack about to take world of ebooks by storm.’

Better? Hmm, maybe not. The thing is, now that I’ve got more into Twitter (I reached 2,000 followers yesterday), I’m not sure some of the so-called catchy profiles really work. They don’t with me, anyhow.

I don’t want to know if you’re addicted to  Chinese tea or black coffee. I don’t want to know if you love your wife or your husband. I don’t want to know if you see yourself as a nerd or a geek. I don’t want to know if you’re a useless cook or a hopeless mother. I don’t want to know if junk foods are your staple diet.

What amazes me most is how many Twitter authors use their profiles to tell the world they love God. They do it in droves! I’m not sure why. Maybe it’s their way of saying it’s their religion that inspires them to write. Or maybe they’re just saying they don’t want to be followed by erotica freaks or hardcore junkies. Whatever the reason, it makes very little impact on me. I decide to follow them – or not to follow them – for other reasons like their reading tastes.

For the moment, I’ll leave my profile as it is. It isn’t catchy but at least it tells how I got here. In a few weeks, I’ll change it as the date of publication of The Girl with the Julia Roberts Smile draws nearer and my focus turns more to marketing. That’s when I’ll need the black coffee and the junk foods.

About Richard Louden

Maybe it was because languages were my thing but I loved writing at school and I've loved it ever since. Obviously, I hope others will enjoy reading what I write but, now that I am turning my hand to novels, what matters most to me is to write what, as a reader, I would like to read. As a journalist with UK papers, I've written widely on education, business, sport and law. In the creative writing field, I've written the scripts of two TV dramas (BBC and ITV), contributed sketches to TV and radio comedy shows and had short stories published in national anthologies. That doesn’t make me a novelist but I hope it gives me a push in the right direction.

Posted on July 18, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I also get a little bored with all the efforts tweeters make to sound dynamic or mysterious or macho – or just plain superior. It’s also my main interest to know what their genre is, or what they’ve written I might like. Tell the truth, I’m not all that enamored with twitter overall. But I also recognize it’s a crucial tool for getting “out there”.
    My particular pet peeve is when I start to follow some one and they bypass courtesy completely, answering simply with an automated “thanks for the follow. my thriller xxxx is now available at Amazon. Can’t they at least say hello first?

Leave a Reply

