100 Thousand Words

It’s not a skoosh, this novel writing business. A couple of blogs ago, I reckoned The Girl with the Julia Roberts Smile might end up at 90,000 words.

For 90,000, read 100,000. That’s because I’ve remembered that Kindle, iTunes and some other devices allow you to download a 10% sample of a novel for free before you decide whether to buy it. In other words, my opening 10% has to be as snappy and gripping as it can be.

That left me two options – to inject extra zip into my first chapters or write new ones. I’ve decided on the second option, so my new chapters will (when finished) involve the hero in an urgent plane and car dash to catch up with the girl with the Julia Roberts smile.

Wish me luck. I need it.

About Richard Louden

Maybe it was because languages were my thing but I loved writing at school and I've loved it ever since. Obviously, I hope others will enjoy reading what I write but, now that I am turning my hand to novels, what matters most to me is to write what, as a reader, I would like to read. As a journalist with UK papers, I've written widely on education, business, sport and law. In the creative writing field, I've written the scripts of two TV dramas (BBC and ITV), contributed sketches to TV and radio comedy shows and had short stories published in national anthologies. That doesn’t make me a novelist but I hope it gives me a push in the right direction.

Posted on June 21, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I know I am late but Good Luck!

Leave a Reply

